The social structure and organization of Iteso is defined by clans. The iteso was traditionally divided into age groups with each age group in charge of particular responsibilities, this system promoted intergenerational cooperation and harmony. These are Nilotic ethnic group of people. The population is estimated to be 2,364,569 in Uganda, 417,670 in Kenya.

According to the historical records available, there are 9. major clans of Iteso and these include the following:
Iteso people are largely from these clans below;

  1. Irarak
  2. Ikuruka
  3. Ikaruwok
  4. Ikatekok
  5. Igoria
  6. Inomu
  7. Ikomolo
  8. Iworopom

Clans are a network of families who trace their ancestry to a particular place or individual. The clan is the next unit of cultural identity after the family and the second largest unit under an ethnic nationality. Clans are central to social and cultural harmony as well as national development as they tend to settle land and family disputes before they ever get to the legal system.

There are however others that emerged from the above and it is also noted that some newer clans have also emerged and Iteso Cultural Union (ICU) is still verifying the authenticity of their historical account. To date we have 1556 clans registered (add link to the list of clans)

Einos Iteso Kopiten is founded on principles of mutual respect and consensus-building, with a mission to promote unity and cultural preservation..

1773 Soroti, Uganda,
+256 772 9233 11

You cannot copy content of this page